6 Mistakes to Avoid When Managing A Google Ads Account
Google Ads can be a powerful tool that allows you to generate sales and quality leads. There are many features and settings available to you to customize your targeting so you can display your ads in the front of the right people at the right time.
Yet with all these options within the account mistakes can happen. If these go undetected they can be quite costly. By learning how to identify these mistakes you can avoid them allowing you to work towards your goals in a productive and cost-effective fashion.
Search and Display Network Campaign Settings
When creating a new search campaign you can create ads to appear in Google search and other Google sites on the search network, across videos, sites and apps across the internet on the display network or both.
For search campaigns where the sole focus is the lead generation, you should only choose the search network. Choosing both search and display Google will attempt to place your ads on relevant sites but not to those searching your keywords. It is also important to remember that the conversion rate of clicks in the display network is quite low. This can drive up the CPA while acquiring little to no benefit.
Choose the appropriate network for your campaign to keep costs down and get relevant traffic that will actually convert.
Too Many Keywords
Having a large number of keywords within your Google ads accounts gives the impression that you can capture a lot of traffic and the potential to acquire more conversions or leads. Aiming to become more granular with your keywords and using between 3 and 5 relevant terms that match your ad groups will allow you to appear on the front of the right audience, keeping the cost low and manageable.
When managing the keywords in your account you need to consider your daily budget. If you have a daily budget of $50 and you have 20 keywords with a CPC of 2$ in one ad group.
You run the risk of reaching your budget very quickly. When you reach your budget limit Google ads will automatically stop showing your ads. This will stop potential customers from seeing your ads and can effectively lower your chances of reaching your goals.
Not Bidding on Brand Terms
By bidding on your company’s brand terms will allow your ads to appear in front of people who know your brand and are searching for it. There are many benefits to bidding on your brand terms one of which is choosing the destination a user will reach following a click. It is likely a brand search term in the organic listing will direct traffic to your homepage, whereas on Google ads to direct them to a specific landing page.
Bidding on brand terms will also help defend you against competitors who bid on you. Your ads will have a better ad rank and a higher quality score to help you rank above the competition.
The keywords also tend to be quite cheap so you can win clicks at a low cost while simultaneously maximizing your brand exposure on Google’s SERP.
Disregarding Negative Keywords
It’s easy to forget about negative keywords until the cost skyrockets due to irrelevant search terms. Negative keywords are simply, a word or phrase that is not associated with your services, products, and brand but can trigger an ad. For example, if you are a personal injury lawyer can you bid on that as a broad match keyword then your ads may be triggered by terms like ‘criminal lawyer’ and ‘corporate lawyer..
Along with keyword research, it’s important to regularly review your search term reports and add all irrelevant and unnecessary terms as a negative to allow your ads to only appear for terms that make send, while also keeping the cost reasonable.
Consider adding a general negative keyword list containing all broad match terms that you definitely don’t want to appear for, like x rated content.
Not Testing Bid Strategies
There are many bid strategies available to be used and it can be a daunting task to figure out which one to use and when to use them. It is crucial that you test out strategies to find which one best matches your needs. You can choose a manual strategy so you can have more control over CPC and spend, or you can aim for an automatic strategy where Google will find the most clicks or conversions at the best possible price.
Just remember that with Google Ads bid strategy there is no one size fits all so continue to test and find which one will help you get the best return on ad spend possible.
Not Adding Ad Extensions
Extensions are a great way to add extra information to your ads and take up more space in the search results to capture more attention from potential customers. There are a variety of Google Ad Extensions to choose from and you can even add multiple, from displaying your businesses location, site links, phone numbers and so much more.
These can be an effective way to increase CTR. Adding extensions is very important and can provide great results to all businesses looking to grow. Along with SEO and inbound marketing, it is crucial to use your paid marketing campaigns to help bolster your lead generation efforts.
Hopefully, this post has helped clear up any queries you had about which PPC mistakes to avoid. If you still have questions or would like to find out more information on any of our services, contact us today.